Better late than never, our annual Open tournament sponsored by the good folk at Macey Insurance was held last weekend. Usually this event is held in the last week of May however due to Covid we had to delay until the slightly windier month of November which caused a few headaches for some players.

Once again we must say a big thankyou to Brendan Goddard and the Team at Macey Insurance. Macey’s has been the naming sponsor of this event since its inception in 2012 and we again thank them for their continued support. Whilst we are thanking sponsors, the team at Titleist have also been on board as prize suppliers and sponsors since the event’s inception and we also thank them for their efforts.

Onto the players of the day and we had 117 people from many clubs in and around the district. We also had a group of 28 players from our reciprocal club The Coast in Little Bay and to all of the guys who travelled to our course we thank you for your efforts.

Scoring was tough on the day and in the scratch event the overall winner with a great score of 70 was Troy Monie from Shoalhaven Ex Services Golf Club. Troy edged out last years winner Colin Mitchell from Links Shell Cove by a shot which was agonising for Colin as he made a disappointing double bogey 7 on the last hole ! The A grade Scratch winner was Nathan Whiteman from Links Shell Cove with a 74 whilst Anthony Elwaw from Gerringong took out B Grade with 85 and Brett Herron from the Heads won C grade with 94.

Runner up A grade scratch with a score of 75 was Alan Davison from the Links Shell Cove. In B grade it was Charlie Swyer from the Heads with 87 and Warren Hogan from the Coast was runner up in C Grade on a countback after shooting 98.

Onto the Net events and the Overall winner with a score of 67 was Doug Turnball from the Coast. He edged out his fellow club member Dominic Romeo by a shot. The A Grade Net winner was Bruce Brownlow from Kiama with a score of 68. In B Grade it was Andrew King from the Coast with a score of 68 on a countback and in C Grade it was Bill Whittlam from the Coast with a score of 73.

The Net runner ups were in A grade Adrian Smith from Shoalhaven Ex Servos scoring 69. In B grade it was Keith Pepper from the Heads scoring 74 whilst Sergio Pertillo from Strathfield took the prize in C grade with a score of 76.

The Novelty prizes for the day were as follows Ntp 2 Michael White Coast Ntp 6 James Hegarty Links Ntp 8 Ross Rees Heads Ntp 10 Troy Monie Worrigee Ntp 11 Paul Manning Heads Ntp 15 Alan Davison Links Long Drive A GradE Sam Stalgis Heads Long Drive B grade Liam Dale Heads Long Drive C Grade Bill Ryan Heads

Thanks again to everyone who played and helped out on the day. We look forward to seeing you at next years event in May 2021

Happy Golfing

Greg and The Pro Shop Team